Breaking Free (part 2)

living in a bubble

Read part 1 here

Maya woke up at 6:25 am.Her alarm was set to wake her up at 6:30 am.She regularly woke up moments before her alarm rang.Somehow her body was used to waking up before the alarm.She took her phone and checked if there were any messages.There were several messages from Emma with photos from the previous night.They looked great.She saw William in one of the photos.She remembered their conversation and how he told her to quit her job.”He isn’t a worrier like I am.I just cant quit without a back up plan”she thought.She needed a back up plan that would work.She got out of the bed and opened her large curtains opposite her white bedside table.Bright light shone throughout the room making it brighter.She made her bed then left to make breakfast.When she was making her coffee Emma called.
“Hey, good morning,did you see the photos?”Emma asked
“Yes I did, they are great,thank-you for sending them”Maya responded
“You are welcome, what are you upto today? “Emma asked
“I am not sure yet, just chilling in the house maybe,”Maya said
“You just cant stay in the house, look for something to do or go out,”
“How about we go for a hike with you today?”Maya said
“I am sorry, I cant, mom duties and all”Emma said
Sawa, let me see what I will do.You have a good day”
“You too.”Emma said hanging up
Maya sat down and sipped her coffee while thinking what she could do.Staying all day in the house wouldn’t amount to anything.She went to her bedroom and took her diary.She had always written what she wanted in that diary.She went through all the the things she had written down.She came across the list of things she wanted to do in life.One of them was to change the world.Changing the world meant being part of something that would make a difference in the world and make it a better place.”I have definitely not been changing anything “she thought.She realized how much her life revolved around home and work only.”I have been living in a bubble.Am just earning a paycheck and surviving.How can that satisfy me?”She asked herself out loud.She decided to call Emma.
“Hey, what now”Emma answered her phone
“Please give me Williams number, the guy at the party yesterday”Maya said
“Girl,he is married ,with two kids and baby number three is coming soon.”Emma responded laughing sarcastically
“Its not about that.I was speaking to him yesterday about my work and how I feel unsatisfied and he really made me think a lot and I think I know what the problem is.I just want to talk to him Emma.”Maya said
“Okay,just know he isn’t looking for a second wife.On a serious note,why cant you tell me,you just met him yesterday?”Emma asked
“I will talk to you after this,just send me the number please “Maya responded
Maya got the number and saved it.She would call him later.It felt weird calling him but he was the person who made her see life from another perspective.If she had not met him she wouldn’t have thought about her life.She knew Emma would not believe that she only wanted to say thank you to William.

****
Maya opened her diary and checked her last post.She had written “I will break free from the familiar.I will choose happiness over fear.I will explore and find my purpose with an open mind.I will be happy.I am good enough”.These words now had a meaning to her.She needed to start working on herself.Her first step was to volunteer at a local area that adopted abandoned newborns.She had always said she would go but she was always busy.She would make time for it now.She would also create time to mentor young girls about pursuing careers and achieving their dreams, this would be her way of changing the world.She opened a new page in her diary and wrote”Life is good but I have to make it excellent for me and others.I am responsible for my own happiness.My happiness does not come from my wonderful job or beautiful house but from me.I will not quit my job,I will start doing other meaningful deeds that bring positive change to me and other people.Life is worth living,I will sure live mine to the fullest”.


2 thoughts on “Breaking Free (part 2)

Leave a comment